2014 Alumni-of-the-Year Honorees Photo: UNCW

Cameron School of Business - Outstanding Alumni

The outstanding alumni are recognized during the Cameron School of Business' - Business Week each year.

2014 Honorees

James Rouse

James Rouse '77
Jim Rouse is the practice administrator for Orthopedic Specialists, a group of five physicians based in Brunswick County.

Rouse, a Wilmington native, is a 1960 graduate of New Hanover High School. He attended Columbia Bible College and later worked for Procter & Gamble and Rockwell International. He and his brother owned and operated several retail businesses before Rouse decided to further his education.

Rouse enrolled at the University of North Carolina Wilmington, where he graduated summa sum laude in 1977. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree with a concentration in accounting. Rouse did a semester of graduate work in finance at UNC Chapel Hill. He then joined Lowrimore, Warwick & Co., a regional accounting firm. He became a partner with the firm after more than three years.

1983, Rouse joined Reeds Jewelers as vice president of finance. He was named chief financial officer when the Wilmington-based company became public in 1986. Rouse provided financial leadership as Reeds grew to become one of the 10 largest retail jewelry chains in the United States.

1in 2013, Rouse retired from Reeds after 30 years of service. He was recognized by the company with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Robert Keith

Robert Keith '78
Robert Edward Keith is the president and founder of Meridien Marketing and Logistics. The Wilmington-based company, founded in 1990, is the leading international sales and logistics company specializing in the American home furnishings industry.

Meridien Marketing and Logistics has branch offices in Russia, United Arab Emirates, Italy, Poland, Taiwan, Peru, and Mexico. The company has established business in more than 70 countries and a customer base that includes retail furniture stores, interior design firms, architects, and affluent consumers.

Keith, a Wilmington native, is a graduate of New Hanover High School. In 1978, he received his Bachelor of Science in business administration with a concentration in marketing from the University of North Carolina Wilmington. He worked for multiple transportation companies including domestic freight carriers and international shipping lines until 1989.

Keith serves on the UNCW Foundation Board of Directors, the Cameron School of Business Entrepreneurship Advisory Board, and is an active Seahawk Club Supporter. He and his wife, Alicia, have three children.

Lynn Whitesell

Lynn Whitesell '97
Lynn Whitesell is the executive director of global organizational effectiveness at Pharmaceutical Product Development based in Wilmington. She also oversees PPD's Global Leadership Program.

Whitesell has been a member of PPD's human resources leadership team since 2007. She leads efforts to design and implement innovative integrated talent management strategies at PPD, one of the world's leading contract research organizations with offices in 46 countries and more than 13,000 professionals worldwide.

Prior to joining PPD, Whitesell led the learning and development function at AAIPharma where she was honored with President's Club membership for driving successes in organizational development. Whitesell was also instrumental in bringing the Cameron School of Business M.B.A. program to AAI.

Whitesell holds a Bachelor of Science degree from East Carolina University and a Masters of Business Administration from UNCW. She is a certified human capital strategist and holds certifications in leadership development, 360-degree feedback and coaching, and global training.

Whitesell continues to be involved with the Cameron School of Business and UNCW's international MBA program. She serves as a member of the university's Swain Center for Business and Economic Services advisory board.

2013 Awardees

  • Robin L. Diehl '90
  • Jean English '96
  • Bill Mayew '97

2012 Awardees

  • Carlton Fisher, '83
  • Jim Parker, '98
  • Jason Wheeler, '99, '03

2011 Awardees

  • Donis Noe, '94
  • Gareth Montague-smith, '97
  • Judy Tharp, '78

2010 Awardees

  • Livian Jones, '95
  • Pete Schuhmann, '90
  • Todd Thibodeaux, '88

2009 Awardees

  • David Finch, '83
  • Tim Duncan, '73
  • Tom Oxenfeld, '77

2008 Awardees

  • David L Cole, '72
  • David Congdon, '78
  • Herbert P. McKim Jr., '85

Previous Years Outstanding Alumni

  • Becky O'Daniell, '86
  • Bruce Schell, '77
  • Chris Hegele, '76
  • James Bongiorno, '94
  • Joseph "Jay" Taylor III, '78
  • Joseph L. King III, '66
  • Linda Baddour, 80', '96
  • Louis H. Rogers III, '01
  • Margaret Barclay, '87
  • Malcomb Coley, '86
  • Robert "Chip" Leavitt Jr., '91
UNC Wilmington | 601 S. College Road, Wilmington NC 28403 | 910.962.3000 | About this Site | Copyright Notice | Feedback | Page maintained by:  Bill Sackley [ Sackleyw AT uncw DOT edu ]